Release Day Review: Twisted by Emma Chase

Twisted by Emma Chase

Twisted by Emma Chase
Series: Tangled #2 (full reading order below)
Publication Date: March 25th 2014
Links: Ebook • Paperback • AudibleGoodreads
Source: I received an ARC from the publisher (Gallery Books) in exchange for an honest review

Falling in love is easy. Staying in love is hard. In this heart-pounding follow-up to Tangled by New York Times bestseller Emma Chase, Kate reveals that there is trouble in paradise, when unexpected circumstances force her and Drew to “renegotiate” their relationship.

There are two kinds of people in the world. The ones who look first, and the ones who leap. I’ve always been more of a looker. Cautious. A planner. That changed after I met Drew Evans. He was so persistent. So sure of himself—and of me.

But not all love stories end happily ever after. Did you think Drew and I were going to ride off into the sunset? Join the club. Now I have to make a choice; the most important of my life. Drew already made hisin fact, he tried to decide for the both of us. But you know that’s just not my style. So I came back to Greenville, Ohio, alone. Well, sort of alone…

What I’ve come to realize is that old habits die hard, and sometimes you have to go back to where you began before you can move ahead.

I loved love looooved Tangled, so of course I was ecstatic to read more of Drew and Kate! And I was excited that their second book would be in Kate’s POV (even though I really missed Drew’s POV). But even though I didn’t love Twisted as much as I loved Tangled, Twisted was still a fun, angsty read that fans of Tangled would enjoy. Kate is just as hilarious as Drew, and I loved reading from her POV!

Kate and Drew have been together for two years. They are blissfully in love… or are they?

Did you think Drew and I were going to ride off into the sunset? Live happily ever after? Join the club. Apparently happily ever after only lasts two years.

Cue the gasps!! Imagine my shock and horror when my beloved couple ever fall apart. They were practically MADE for each other! But that’s what happens when misunderstandings and miscommunication occurs in a relationship. Both parties get hurt, and in this case, Drew and Kate… break up. But wait! Drew and Kate fans, don’t despair. Not all hope is lost! I don’t want to spoil the reason for their breakup, but if you’re scared about going into this book, don’t be. I had complete confidence in Emma Chase that she wouldn’t let me down about her characters, and I was right.

When Drew and Kate break up, Kate is understandably devastated. She packs up and goes home, back to Greenville, Ohio. There, she has the comfort of her family and best friend, but even with them, nothing can replace Drew. She loves him, but he hurt her terribly. I wanted to hug her–but mostly I wanted to smack Kate and Drew so badly! Their breakup could’ve been avoided so easily, but one freaking miscommunication leads to so much pain for the both of them.

Twisted has a completely different feel than Tangled–don’t get me wrong, there’s still the laugh-out-loud humor Emma Chase is so great at, but that’s mostly thanks to Dee, Kate’s best friend, and Billy, Dee’s cousin and Kate’s ex-boyfriend, and not thanks to Drew. I was a little disappointed that Drew is absent from a large part of the story, but I was willing to see where Emma Chase would take the story, so I sucked it up and kept reading. And I’m glad I did.

Emma Chase takes us on a completely different direction than I expected after reading Tangled. I wouldn’t say I wholeheartedly loved the different direction, but by the end, I was proud of how Drew and Kate ended up handling things. This book was slightly predictable, but I’m totally willing to forgive that because of the Kate’s fabulous narrative and Dee and Billy’s hilarious banter. Oh, and Drew’s sweet words…

“I love you, Kate. Everything that’s good in my life, anything that really matters, is only there because of you. If we hadn’t met? I’d be fucking miserable–and probably too clueless to even realize it.”

So for fans of Tangled, Twisted might not live up to the first book, but it’s still well worth the read. It’ll make you ache–both from laughing so much and from Kate and Drew’s heartbreaking breakup.

3.5 hearts
lacey

Quotes are taken from the arc and are subject to change in the final version.


Reading Order: Tangled series

Tangled by Emma Chase Holy Frigging Matrimony by Emma Chase
Twisted by Emma Chase Tamed by Emma Chase Tied by Emma Chase

#1 ~ Tangled: My Review • Ebook • Paperback • AudibleGoodreads
#1.5 ~ Holy Frigging Matrimony: My Review • EbookAudibleGoodreads
#2 ~ Twisted: Ebook • Paperback • AudibleGoodreads
#3 ~ Tamed: My Review • Ebook • Paperback • AudibleGoodreads
#4 ~ Tied: My Review • Ebook • Paperback • AudibleGoodreads


FOLLOW BOOKLOVERS FOR LIFE ON:
FACEBOOKTWITTERGOODREADSPINTERESTBLOGLOVIN’

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Advertisements

We Love Comments!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s