Release Day Review: Stealing Rose by Monica Murphy

Stealing Rose by Monica Murphy

Stealing Rose by Monica Murphy
Series: The Fowler Sisters #2 (full reading order below)
Publication Date: March 3rd 2015
Purchase: EbookPaperback • Audible • Goodreads
Source: I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

Perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Emma Chase—the second novel in New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy’s sizzling series about three powerhouse sisters and the men who would have their hearts.

People say the youngest child has it easy, but nothing can be further from the truth. Unlike my two sisters, Violet and Lily, I’m never in the limelight. I just work my butt off for Fleur Cosmetics and get little to no thanks for it. I’ve been pushed too far one too many times, and I’m finally brave enough to do something about it.

Maybe my newfound courage has something to do with the amazing pink and white diamond necklace I wear to the party in Cannes. The instant those dazzling heirloom jewels touch my skin, they excite some deep, aching need inside. And when that guy—that totally gorgeous guy—locks eyes with me, I know this nice girl is going to be naughty.

For once it’s my turn. My turn to say no to my father, to outshine my sisters, to walk away from it all—straight into the arms of a mysterious stranger. But what if Caden is much more than I bargained for? Sure, he makes me feel sexy and free in a way I never have before, but there’s something else I can’t quite place—something dangerous. Maybe our “chance” meeting wasn’t so random. Maybe he was looking for me for a reason. Whatever his motive, there’s no going back now.

And maybe I don’t want to.

I highly enjoyed the first book of The Fowler Sisters series, so of course I was looking forward to Rose’s book! Unfortunately, Stealing Rose fell a bit flat for me. I definitely didn’t enjoy Rose’s book as much as I did Violet’s. I had a hard time liking or connecting with the main characters, and though the plot held potential, because I didn’t like the characters, the story just wasn’t working for me. My heart just wasn’t into this book, sadly. It mostly an okay read – though if you’re a fan of Owning Violet, I still think you should give Stealing Rose a try. You might like it more than I did.

I don’t measure up. I’m in Lily’s and Violet’s shadows and I hate it. The biggest obstacle I’ve ever had to overcome is being their baby sister. They’ll always be ahead of me, no matter what I do or what I say.
Being the youngest sucks.

Rose is the youngest of the three Fowler sisters, and she’s the sister that’s always overlooked. She doesn’t feel appreciated at her job at Fleur Cosmetics – she’s a hard worker, but no one, not even her father, the head of the company, notices. And when her father is promoting his nasty bitch of a girlfriend instead of Rose, Rose decides to say fuck it, resign, and take some time to herself.

Caden Kingsley is a thief. He cons and steals from the rich to help support himself and his mother after his late father left them destitute. He’s good at what he does, even though he’s not exactly proud of it – he’s a criminal, plain and simple. When Caden and Rose meet for the first time, Caden is aiming to steal a necklace of hers, but he never expects to feel a connection with her. He decides to pursue her, but he can’t have both the necklace and the girl. So which would he choose?

For once, I want to stick. I want to live a real life, not some constant con game. I want to be real with Rose. And if that means sometimes it gets ugly, and sometimes I’m scared, mad, sad, or whatever-the-hell emotion I’m struggling with, I still want to do it.
So I’ve got to fight for it. Own it. Own me. Own her.
Own us.

It’s a whirlwind romance for Rose and Caden, though Caden is keeping what he does a secret. He’s no longer entirely sure about his ‘career’ as a thief. It threatens what he has with Rose, and he has to decide whether he can give up his life as a thief for something that could turn into so much more.

You stole my heart, Ro. I may be the professional, but with us, you’re the thief. You reached right into my chest and took my heart like it fully belonged to you. And I think it does.

Stealing Rose had tons and TONS of sex! Oh my lord, Caden and Rose no doubt heat up the pages, but sometimes it felt a bit too excessive. In this case, I would have rather had more character and story development than sex. This was mainly why I didn’t grow to care for Rose or Caden – all they did was have sex. The romance just didn’t feel like it grew in a genuine way. I didn’t understand how these two fell in love with each other. As for the characters themselves, Rose didn’t feel strong enough to me – the development with her and her father/job wasn’t too clear, and it felt rushed at the end. I liked Caden a little better, with the way he wanted to change into a better man for Rose.

I wasn’t a fan of Rose or Caden, but that didn’t entirely ruin the book. I enjoyed it well enough. Caden was redeeming at the end, which ended the book on a much better note. If you’re a fan of a hot and steamy book with an intriguing storyline, you might enjoy Stealing Rose more than I did.

3 hearts
lacey

Quotes are taken from the arc and are subject to change in the final version.


Reading Order: The Fowler Sisters series

Owning Violet by Monica Murphy Stealing Rose by Monica Murphy Taming Lily by Monica Murphy

#1 ~ Owning Violet: My Review • Ebook • Paperback • Audible • Goodreads
#2 ~ Stealing Rose: EbookPaperback • Audible • Goodreads
#3 ~ Taming Lily: My Review • EbookPaperback • AudibleGoodreads


FOLLOW BOOKLOVERS FOR LIFE ON:
FACEBOOKTWITTERGOODREADSPINTERESTBLOGLOVIN’

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Advertisements

We Love Comments!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s