Release Day Review: Hallowed Ground by Rebecca Yarros

Hallowed Groud by Rebecca Yarros

Hallowed Ground by Rebecca Yarros
Series: Flight & Glory #4 (full reading order below)
Publication Date: January 25th 2016
Links: EbookPaperback • Goodreads
Source: I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

There are some debts you can’t repay…

Josh Walker is loyal, reckless, and every girl’s dream. But he only has eyes for December Howard, the girl he has yearned for since his high school hockey days. Together they have survived grief, the military, distance, and time as they’ve fought for stolen weekends between his post at Ft. Rucker and her schooling at Vanderbilt. Now that Josh is a medevac pilot and Ember is headed toward graduation, they’re moving on—and in—together.

Ember never wanted the Army life, but loving Josh means accepting whatever the army dictates—even when that means saying goodbye as Josh heads to Afghanistan, a country that nearly killed him once before and that took her father. But filling their last days together with love, passion, and plans for their future doesn’t temper Ember’s fear, and if there’s one thing she’s learned from her father’s death, it’s that there are some obstacles even love can’t conquer.

Flight school is over.

This is war.

I had no idea it was possible to fall even more in love with Josh and Ember from Full Measures, but Rebecca Yarros proved me wrong. Full Measures was one of my favorite reads of last year – I fell so hard for Josh and Ember’s story! So when I heard they would be getting another book, I jumped at the chance to read it. I mean, how could I turn down more Josh Walker? And now, after reading Hallowed Ground, I love them even more than I did in Full Measures. Through the trials, the heartache, the deployments, a war, they’ve come out on top and stronger than ever. This book was incredibly emotional – I nearly cried about 3 times, and I rarely ever cry for books. There were so many ups and downs, but overall it was a beautiful, fantastic follow-up and conclusion to Josh and Ember’s story.

Here was my salvation.
December was my saving grace.

Hallowed Ground is book 4 in the Flight & Glory series, but you only need to read the first book, Full Measures, to first be introduced to Josh and Ember. Still, I highly recommend reading the series in order so you get the full effect of each of the characters’ appearances in Hallowed Ground. If you’re a fan of Ember and Josh, Paisley and Jagger, and Sam and Grayson, then you absolutely need to read this final book.

“You are my dream now, December Howard. You are everything to me. My heart beats for you, my soul is only whole when you’re near. You’re my home, my shelter, my wildest fantasy, and I cannot imagine a future where you’re not mine, because I’m yours in every sense of the word.”

I don’t want to give anything away in the book, because when you read it, you need to experience everything first-hand. Rebecca Yarros has a brilliant talent at writing and bringing emotion to life through her words, and after every book I read from her, I only become a bigger fan. Her words pack a punch, and hands down, Hallowed Ground was the most difficult to read. This book hurt – it very much ripped my heart with all the emotional, gut-wrenching scenes between Josh and Ember. You get frustrated, you laugh, you want to cry… you seriously feel a whole spectrum of emotions. But I promise, everything – all the heartache, the ups and downs – will be worth it in the end. The epilogue seriously left me with a smile on my face and I couldn’t be happier with the way things ended for Josh and Ember.

“You are a flesh-and-bone wet dream, and you owned me the first fucking moment my mouth touched yours.”

I am so, so happy I decided to read Full Measures last year. If I didn’t, I would’ve been missing out on one fantastic, beautifully-written series. Josh is still one of my all-time favorite book boyfriends, and I can only hope for many more from Rebecca Yarros. As sad as I am to see the Flight & Glory series end, I’m so excited to see what’s next from the author!

4.5 hearts

Quotes are taken from the arc and are subject to change in the final version.

Reading Order: Flight & Glory series

Full Measures by Rebecca Yarros Eyes Turned Skyward by Rebecca Yarros Beyond What is Given by Rebecca Yarros Hallowed Groud by Rebecca Yarros

#1 ~ Full Measures: My Review • Ebook • PaperbackAudible • Goodreads
#2 ~ Eyes Turned Skyward: Ebook • Paperback • Goodreads
#3 ~ Beyond What is Given: My Review • Ebook • Paperback • Goodreads
#4 ~ Hallowed Ground: EbookPaperback • Goodreads


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

2 thoughts on “Release Day Review: Hallowed Ground by Rebecca Yarros

We Love Comments!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.