Release Day Review: Brave Enough by M. Leighton

Brave Enough by M. Leighton

Brave Enough by M. Leighton
Series: Tall, Dark, and Dangerous #3 (full reading order below)
Publication Date: April 5th 2016
Links: Ebook • Paperback • AudibleGoodreads
Source: I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

Is she brave enough to give her heart to a man she only thought she knew?

He was the most charismatic man I’d ever met. Strong, tough, brave. Bold as hell. Something told me Tag Barton could have anything—anyone—he wanted…and he wanted me. It didn’t matter that he was wrong for me in practically every way possible. It didn’t matter that my father would hate it.

I couldn’t resist him. Even if I’d known who he really was and what he was really capable of.

When he suggested we pretend to be engaged, I thought he was the answer to all my problems. He wasn’t. And, in his wake, he left nothing but scorched earth and me, just another casualty of my father’s war.

Can I believe him now when he tells me he loves me?  Or is he nothing more than a beautiful, breathtaking lie?

Brave Enough is the third book in the Tall, Dark, and Dangerous series, and it features Tag, who we’ve met in the previous two books. We don’t really know much about him other than his military connections with the previous heroes, but now we get to see the heart of him – and see him fall in love. I liked Brave Enough, but it’s definitely my least favorite of the series. If you love quick, hot reads, I would recommend this book, but otherwise, I’m sad to say there isn’t anything too special about it.

It’s been too long since I’ve been able to want somebody just because I want them and not because of how they may or may not fit into my life. Maybe it’s high time to go with my instincts. To go with someone who might be all wrong for me. To go with the passion. To throw caution to the wind.

Weatherly O’Neal has lived under her father’s thumb her whole life, but when she’s ordered to do the outrageous and marry a man nearly twice her age in order to save her father’s company, she refuses and escapes to the vineyard where she’s always found comfort in. But to her surprise, she finds one gorgeous Tag Barton working there, a man who sets her on fire like no other. And with him, she begins to think that maybe she doesn’t have to marry to further her family’s goals, but rather for the love and passion she’s wished to find in her life.

Tag Barton has been working in the vineyard to care for his ill mother and he lives a completely different life than the one he had when he was in the Special Forces. He’s gorgeous, charming, and a total player, but meeting Weatherly changes everything for him. She’s the one woman who’s managed to gain his attention and keep it, and he wants everything from her, including her heart. But when he’s hiding a secret that could tear them apart, can a relationship between them really work out?

What began as a hideaway became my burial ground. And the man who felt like my biggest blessing had now become my biggest curse.

The moment Tag and Weatherly meet, the connection between them is powerful and visceral. It’s a strong dose of insta-lust for these two – and the two of them are seriously HOT together. Brave Enough is filled with fiery chemistry and sexual tension that M. Leighton excels at writing. And she definitely writes a good alpha in Tag.

I’m a bit disappointed that I couldn’t love this book, because I know if the story and characters were fleshed out more, I would’ve enjoyed it so much. The book was just too short and fast for my taste, so I never really had the time to feel invested in Tag and Weatherly and their romance. And the passion and sex between them overshadowed any developing romance, so their love didn’t really feel all that believable. There was a good amount of angst, which was my favorite part about Brave Enough, but it wasn’t enough to make me like the book more. It’s sweet, sexy, but fairly predictable – overall it’s a good read, but it’s not M. Leighton’s best.

3 hearts

Quotes are taken from the arc and are subject to change in the final version.

Reading Order: Tall, Dark, and Dangerous series

Strong Enough by M. Leighton Tough Enough by M. Leighton Brave Enough by M. Leighton

#1 ~ Strong Enough: My Review • EbookPaperbackAudible • Goodreads
#2 ~ Tough Enough: My ReviewEbookPaperback • Audible • Goodreads
#3 ~ Brave Enough: Ebook • Paperback • AudibleGoodreads


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We Love Comments!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.