Early Review: Good Girl by Lauren Layne

Good Girl by Lauren Layne
Series: Love Unexpectedly #2 (full reading order below)
Publication Date: May 17th 2016
Links: EbookGoodreads
Source: I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

Lauren Layne brings all the unpredictable heat of her USA Today bestseller Blurred Lines to an all-new cast of characters! Country music’s favorite good girl is hiding away from the world—only to find herself bunking with a guy who makes her want to be a little bad.

Jenny Dawson moved to Nashville to write music, not get famous. But when her latest record goes double platinum, Jenny’s suddenly one of the town’s biggest stars—and the center of a tabloid scandal connecting her with a pop star she’s barely even met. With paparazzi tracking her every move, Jenny flees to a remote mansion in Louisiana to write her next album. The only hiccup is the unexpected presence of a brooding young caretaker named Noah, whose foul mouth and snap judgments lead to constant bickering—and serious heat.

Noah really should tell Jenny that he’s Preston Noah Maxwell Walcott, the owner of the estate where the feisty country singer has made her spoiled self at home. But the charade gives Noah a much-needed break from his own troubles, and before long, their verbal sparring is indistinguishable from foreplay. But as sizzling nights give way to quiet pillow talk, Noah begins to realize that Jenny’s almost as complicated as he is. To fit into each other’s lives, they’ll need the courage to face their problems together—before the outside world catches up to them.

Lauren Layne does it again! She delivers another fun-filled, hilarious, and sweet contemporary romance with Good Girl, a new adult standalone in the Love Unexpectedly series. I seem to never be disappointed with LL’s works, which makes her an auto-buy author for me whenever I’m in the mood for something light-hearted that will make me smile. So basically, I really, really enjoyed Good Girl – it’s the perfect opposites-attract/enemies-to-lovers romance! If you love broody heroes and sassy heroines, this book is definitely for you.

Jenny Dawson is a famous country singer who’s known for her ‘America’s sweetheart’ persona, but when false accusations appear in the media claiming that Jenny is involved in a cheating scandal, her life becomes a mess. She needs to get out of town ASAP, and the perfect place happens to be in the middle of nowhere, Louisiana. Her trip to the quiet, serene countryside would be perfect… if it weren’t the annoying, broody, sexy caretaker, Noah.

You know that feeling you get sometimes? Well, okay, rarely. That feeling when you meet a stranger’s eyes and something inexplicable and intense sizzles between you?
That.
That’s what happened between me and Noah Maxwell, at least on my end.
And then . . .
And then he had to go and open his mouth. It would figure that the first guy I’m attracted to in a good long time turns out to be a total jerk. It would also figure that I’m stuck sort of living with him for the next few months.

Noah… isn’t the caretaker of the place Jenny’s staying at, but she doesn’t need to know that he’s actually the owner. Noah himself wanted a quiet place to turn to while escaping from his preppy life as Preston Noah Maxwell Walcott, but everything’s disrupted when a gorgeous country singer and her annoying Pomeranian arrive at the estate. To say that Noah and Jenny don’t get along is an understatement – they get off on the wrong foot from the first second they meet, and it all goes downhill from there. But the delicious tension between builds as they trade insults and banter, and who can resist when the two are stuck together on an estate with no one around for miles?

This girl is like crack to me. Sweet, addicting, and fucking dangerous.

I read some earlier reviews and knew going into Good Girl that Noah wouldn’t exactly be the greatest hero ever. He’s a jerk, in fact. He does asshole things, says cruel words – but never did I think that the things he did go too far or should never be forgiven. Jenny, thankfully, isn’t a doormat, but neither is she petty, which I admired. Somehow, LL wrote these two characters in a way that just worked for me. The gradual build-up of their feelings and the romance felt genuine and I really connected with it. And by the end, any lingering anger or frustration I had towards Noah were gone, and I was giddy and smiling at how things wrapped up. This book might not be for everyone, but I really enjoyed LL’s take on an enemies-to-lovers theme.

4 hearts
lacey

Quotes are taken from the arc and are subject to change in the final version.


Reading Order: Love Unexpectedly series

Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne 

#1 ~ Blurred Lines: My Review • Ebook • Audible • Goodreads
#2 ~ Good Girl: EbookGoodreads (May 17, 2016)


FOLLOW BOOKLOVERS FOR LIFE ON:
FACEBOOKTWITTER • INSTAGRAM • GOODREADSPINTERESTBLOGLOVIN’

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Advertisements

Release Day Review: Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne

Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne

Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne
Series: Love Unexpectedly #1 (full reading order below)
Publication Date: August 25th 2015
Links: Ebook • Audible • Goodreads
Source: I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

In a novel that’s perfect for fans of Abbi Glines and Jessica Sorensen, USA Today bestselling author Lauren Layne delivers a sexy take on the timeless question: Can a guy and a girl really be “just friends”?

When Parker Blanton meets Ben Olsen during her freshman year of college, the connection is immediate—and platonic. Six years later, they’re still best friends, sharing an apartment in Portland’s trendy Northwest District as they happily settle into adult life. But when Parker’s boyfriend dumps her out of the blue, she starts to wonder about Ben’s no-strings-attached approach to dating. The trouble is, even with Ben as her wingman, Parker can’t seem to get the hang of casual sex—until she tries it with him.

The arrangement works perfectly . . . at first. The sex is mind-blowing, and their friendship remains as solid as ever, without any of the usual messy romantic entanglements. But when Parker’s ex decides he wants her back, Ben is shocked by a fierce stab of possessiveness. And when Ben starts seeing a girl from work, Parker finds herself plagued by unfamiliar jealousy. With their friendship on the rocks for the first time, Parker and Ben face an alarming truth: Maybe they can’t go back. And maybe, deep down, they never want to.

Guys and girls can’t be just friends. Or not best friends, anyway.
Shit gets too complicated.

I absolutely love reading the friends-to-lovers trope, and add in the fact that Lauren Layne wrote this, Blurred Lines was a total win for me! (I always manage to enjoy this author’s books.) Fun, sexy, hilarious, and so, so sweet, Blurred Lines is a wonderfully heartwarming read about best friends who end up being so much more to each other.

Parker Blanton and Ben Olsen have been best friends since college, and six years later they now live together in an apartment. I loved their friendship – the banter between them is hilarious, but I also enjoyed the more serious, supportive aspect to their friendship. They’ve been through thick and thin side-by-side, and that’s never going to change.

Ben is an eternal bachelor and manwhore, and he’s very firmly anti-relationship. He’s also got some deep-set issues with feeling inferior to others, mainly because of the way his parents have treated him. I found this fascinating about Ben’s character, because it’s not often that I read about a hero who has an inferiority complex. Lauren Layne surprised me with the depth of Ben’s character, which she executed very well. I adored Ben, and my heart went out to him whenever he felt so inadequate at doing anything, especially long-term relationships.

Parker has just gotten dumped by her long-time boyfriend, and she’s looking for someone she can hook up with. She wants to be the girl version of player Ben, but when she tries out some guys, they just don’t work because she doesn’t feel comfortable enough with them. Then she realizes that maybe the perfect person is the player himself, the guy she feels most comfortable with in the world.

What if the right guy to scratch my sexual itch is the one who makes me laugh? The one I can talk to.
What if the right guy . . .
Has been right in front of me?

Parker and Ben begin a no-strings-attached sexual relationship that they can choose to end at any time, all while trying to maintain their friendship. And it does work… for a little while. The chemistry between them is hot, the sex between them is on fire, so everything is going smoothly between them… until Parker’s ex wants her back. Then both Parker and Ben have to confront their newfound feelings for each other or risk losing the most important person in their lives.

There are so many things I want to do to her. Things that I want her to do to me. But when her arms come around me, pulling me closer, all I can think about is being inside her. Being home.

I know when I pick up a book by Lauren Layne, I’m going to get a feel-good, funny, entertaining read, and Blurred Lines is exactly that. It was easy to read, in the best of ways. I didn’t want to put it down – I was invested in the romance and I laughed so much at the humor. My favorite thing about this book is how the friendship between Ben and Parker is so strong, yet their love grows to be even stronger. This book is definitely a must-read for fans of the friends-to-lovers trope!

4 hearts
lacey

Quotes are taken from the arc and are subject to change in the final version.


Reading Order: Love Unexpectedly series

Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne 

#1 ~ Blurred Lines: Ebook • Audible • Goodreads
#2 ~ Good Girl: My Review • EbookGoodreads


FOLLOW BOOKLOVERS FOR LIFE ON:
FACEBOOKTWITTERGOODREADSPINTERESTBLOGLOVIN’

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.