Early Review: Never Let Me Go by Monica Murphy

Never Let You Go by Monica Murphy

Never Let Me Go by Monica Murphy
Series: Never Tear Us Apart #2 (full reading order below)
Publication Date: May 3rd 2016
Links: EbookPaperback • Audible • Goodreads
Source: I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

The second novel in this darkly sexy contemporary series from bestselling author Monica Murphy wraps up an emotionally powerful two-part tale of forbidden love.
 
The truth hurts, they say—and my pain cuts deep. While I was falling for Ethan, he was deceiving me the entire time. He held a huge secret, protected by his lies. When I discovered what he was hiding, the truth shook my world, threatening to ruin us forever. Ruin me. But I soon realized that what we share can’t be destroyed.

The connection between us is too strong. It always has been. I can’t deny him any longer. And I can’t deny my truth: I’m in love with Ethan.

I don’t want to let him go.

While we’re trying our best to make this relationship work, other forces are fighting against us. My family, who wants to keep me safe. The media obsessed with my tragic past. The public that feeds off of it. Even Ethan’s father—the man who nearly destroyed me all those years ago. He’s doing his best to finish the job.

Despite my love for Ethan, the doubts creep in, clouding my mind. Is he worth the pain? Will our love survive, or will we have no choice but to end it—end us—once and for all?

Never Let You Go was a highly anticipated release of mine – I was dying to read this book after the cliffhanger in Never Tear Us Apart!! Never Tear Us Apart (my review here) was a heart-pounding, intense, unique read, so I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the sequel. Unfortunately, I didn’t love it as much as the first book. I liked seeing how Katie and Ethan ended up, but overall, Never Let You Go was just an okay read. Monica Murphy’s writing is wonderful as usual, but the story just didn’t grip me like the first book did.

Katie finally knows the truth of who Ethan is – and with this betrayal of trust, she wants nothing to do with him. Ethan, on the other hand, only wants Katie to be happy, and though he’d rather her be happy with him, he’s backed off to give her time to herself. There’s a lot of this back-and-forth for Katie – one moment, she needs him, the next she’s pushing him away. I was amazed at the patience in Ethan, but I did get a little frustrated at this because the story didn’t move forward fast enough. Still, whenever Ethan and Katie are together, they’re so sweet and wonderful. If this book had nothing but their romance, I would’ve loved it so much more!

Being with Katie makes me feel complete. Whole. Comfortable in my own skin, when I’ve moved through my life uncomfortable as hell with just about everything I’ve ever done.

Tragic events put these two characters together at a young age, but it seems like the present is trying to tear them apart. The media won’t stop hounding Katie and Ethan, and they’re even accusing Ethan of being a part of Katie’s kidnapping, rather than being her savior. This part of book was a little too dramatic for my taste. The media is overwhelming at times, and it seemed to overshadow the main characters and their relationship. I wanted a little less of it, but I understand how the author wanted to use the media in conjunction with Ethan and Katie overcoming their past.

Still, even with my annoyances with the book, I really did enjoy seeing how Katie and Ethan’s relationship turned out. I was rooting for them from the very first book, so I was happy with the events in this conclusion. If you liked Never Tear Us Apart, hopefully you’ll enjoy this sequel! The romance is slow and sweet, but everything else is just a little mediocre compared to the first book.

The boy of my past. The man of my future. The one I can never, ever let go.

3 hearts
lacey

Quotes are taken from the arc and are subject to change in the final version.


Reading Order: Never Tear Us Apart series

Never Tear Us Apart by Monica Murphy Never Let You Go by Monica Murphy

#1 ~ Never Year Us Apart: My Review • EbookPaperbackAudible • Goodreads
#2 ~ Never Let Me Go: EbookPaperback • Audible • Goodreads (May 3, 2016)


FOLLOW BOOKLOVERS FOR LIFE ON:
FACEBOOKTWITTER • INSTAGRAM • GOODREADSPINTERESTBLOGLOVIN’

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Advertisements

Release Day Review: Never Tear Us Apart by Monica Murphy

Never Tear Us Apart by Monica Murphy

Never Tear Us Apart by Monica Murphy
Series: Never Tear Us Apart #1 (full reading order below)
Publication Date: January 5th 2016
Links: EbookPaperbackAudible • Goodreads
Source: I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

Perfect for readers of Colleen Hoover, Jay Crownover, and K. A. Tucker, the first novel in this darkly sexy contemporary series from bestselling author Monica Murphy kicks off an emotionally powerful two-part tale of forbidden love.

Crazy how eight years can disappear in an instant. One look at Katie Watts, and I’m a fifteen-year-old again–the one who risked everything to save a terrified girl from her twisted kidnapper. She’s grown-up now–beautiful, quiet, composed–and telling her story to the world. A story that involves me in more ways than you can imagine. She used to call me her guardian angel. Sure, I risked my life, but she was worth dying for.

I need to make contact with her. Just to ensure that she’s safe.

Somehow we reconnect. We become friends . . . but I want more. I want to make her mine. And she wants me too. Does she know who I am? Has she figured me out? Not yet. But she will. In the meantime, I need to make sure that whatever hold that animal had on her is gone.

So, yeah, I’m stealing these moments with her. Savoring them. Knowing, dreading, that she’ll soon find out who I really am. And everything will fall apart. All because of that twisted, perverted monster sitting on death row. Her kidnapper. A convicted serial killer.

My father.

Oh. My. God. What an emotional read! This story is one of the most intriguing I’ve ever read, and it’s nothing like what Monica Murphy has previously written. It’s intense. Gritty. Raw. Captivating. Heartbreaking. It’s a story of innocence lost and hearts reconnecting. I’m pretty stunned at what Monica Murphy has created in Katie and Ethan’s story – this might be my favorite book of hers yet.

But I’m none of those things. Confident. Strong. Carefree. Those words belong to the old me. Once innocence is lost, you can never get it back. That’s my problem. I lost my innocence at the age of twelve, far too early. And the man who stole it from me will haunt me forever.

Eight years ago, when Katie Watts was twelve, she was kidnapped and raped by a serial killer. She’s a survivor, but for the past eight years, she’s lived in silence, a shell of herself, but no longer. Now, hoping to free herself of her past, she’s ready to tell her story of her abduction, and of the boy who saved her – her hero, her guardian angel… her kidnapper/rapist’s son.

Will Monroe, now Ethan Williams, has never forgotten the girl he saved. She haunts his dreams as his father haunts his nightmares, and now that Ethan has found Katie again, he can’t walk away from her a second time. The powerful connection that existed when they met all those years ago has never truly gone away, and Ethan is now compelled to be there for Katie, to be her hero and savior once more. The only problem is that when Ethan enters Katie’s life again, he doesn’t tell her the truth of who he is and hides behind his Ethan persona. So what happens when past is dying to be free and Ethan can’t hide who he is anymore?

I wanted her, body and soul, as much a part of me as breathing.

If you’re worried about how Monica Murphy portrays Katie’s kidnapping and rape, don’t be. The author does not romanticize what happens to Katie. She doesn’t write it in some gentler light, but neither does she go into all the details, all of which I appreciated.

Never Tear Us Apart is brilliantly written, told in Katie and Ethan’s past and present POVs. Monica Murphy had me feeling like I was experiencing every heart-wrenching feeling right alongside these characters. What was interesting to me was that the past wasn’t told in a consecutive timeline, and instead jumped around a bit, which threw me off sometimes. Ethan did weird me out in the beginning when he got a little too intense with his feelings for Katie, but otherwise, I was hooked onto this unputdownable story. It wasn’t perfect, but it’s different, and if you’re looking for something intriguing and unique, I highly recommend this book. Be forewarned though, this is a two-book series, so Never Tear Us Apart does end in a cliffhanger, but the cliffie is definitely worth the read.

4 hearts
lacey

Quotes are taken from the arc and are subject to change in the final version.


Reading Order: Never Tear Us Apart series

Never Tear Us Apart by Monica Murphy Never Let You Go by Monica Murphy

#1 ~ Never Year Us Apart: EbookPaperbackAudible • Goodreads
#2 ~ Never Let Me Go: My Review • EbookPaperback • Audible • Goodreads


FOLLOW BOOKLOVERS FOR LIFE ON:
FACEBOOKTWITTER • INSTAGRAM • GOODREADSPINTERESTBLOGLOVIN’

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.