Review: Rule by Jay Crownover

Rule by Jay Crownover

Rule by Jay Crownover
Series: Marked Men #1 (full reading order below)
Publication Date: December 30th 2012
Purchase: Ebook • Paperback

Opposites in every way . . . except the one that matters 

Shaw Landon loved Rule Archer from the moment she laid eyes on him. Rule is everything a straight–A pre-med student like Shaw shouldn’t want–and the only person she’s never tried to please. She isn’t afraid of his scary piercings and tattoos or his wild attitude. Though she knows that Rule is wrong for her, her heart just won’t listen.

To a rebel like Rule Archer, Shaw Landon is a stuck-up, perfect princess-and his dead twin brother’s girl. She lives by other people’s rules; he makes his own. He doesn’t have time for a good girl like Shaw-even if she’s the only one who can see the person he truly is.

But a short skirt, too many birthday cocktails, and spilled secrets lead to a night neither can forget. Now, Shaw and Rule have to figure out how a girl like her and a guy like him are supposed to be together without destroying their love . . . or each other.

OMG BAD BOY ALERT!!! If you love bad boys, then Rule is so right up your alley! It’s been quite a while since I’ve read a book with a perfect bad boy, but Rule has got it all. He’s a man-whore, he’s got all sorts of tattoos and piercings, he’s rude, and he works at a tattoo parlor! It took a while for me to like him, because he was a bit too much for me, but I ended up falling a little for this bad boy. And the best part? He falls for the good girl! *grins*

Shaw Landon and Rule Archer have known each other for forever, but Shaw is the only one who harbors a crush for Rule. She’s loved him since the first time they met but Rule has never returned her feelings. Mostly because he never knew about them, but also because he believed that Shaw was his late twin brother’s girl. But circumstances thrust them together over and over again, and when Rule sees Shaw in a new light, one where she’s not the perfect goody-two shoes he believes her to be, sparks fly.

“Rule if this goes bad it’s gonna be so, so bad.” Her voice was just a husky whisper against my chest.
“True, but if it’s good it’s gonna be so very, very good.”

Rule and Shaw agree to give a relationship a go, but it’s not going to be easy. Rule has always been a bad boy, and he has a hard time giving up bad habits, but he’s willing to try to be better for Shaw. And oh my goodness, this is when I truly fell for this bad boy. He believes he’s not good enough for Shaw, but he tries so, so hard. He has his rude, crass, bad boy side to him, but then we get to see the sweet, lovable, adoring side to Rule he only shows to Shaw.

I gulped down the sudden surge of emotion in my throat and pulled her into a tight hug. It felt like coming home, a feeling I don’t think I had ever actually experienced before.

Even though I enjoyed the romance so much, what really sold this book to me was the internal transformations both Rule and Shaw experience. For Rule, he’s been lost ever since his brother, the other half of him, died. He’d been spiraling down a dark path until Shaw brought him out of it and into the light. He’s still one hot, sexy bad boy, but he learns to care and show his emotions for others now. His family is a huge part of the story, and I loved seeing the changing dynamics as Rule becomes his better self. Shaw, on the other hand, has always upheld her good girl image, and being with Rule makes her want to be free. She doesn’t want to be the perfect girl everyone expects her to be, and I was so proud of her for standing up for herself, for being who she was truly meant to be.

Rule and Shaw have their ups and downs together, but I honestly had no worries, because they fit each other so well. They give each other the love and support that they never really had, and they bring out the best in each other. And Rule is one fine bad boy. I didn’t LOVE him, but as far as bad boys go, he’s pretty awesome. 😉

“You have me Shaw, any way you need me, any way you want me, you have me.”

4 hearts!



Reading Order: Marked Men series

Rule by Jay Crownover Jet by Jay Crownover Rome by jay Crownover
Nash by Jay Crownover Rowdy by Jay Crownover

#1 ~ Rule: Ebook • Paperback • Goodreads
#2 ~ Jet: Ebook • Paperback • Goodreads
#3 ~ Rome: My Review • Ebook • Paperback • Goodreads
#4 ~ Nash: Ebook • Paperback • Goodreads
#5 ~ Rowdy: Ebook • Paperback • Goodreads (Oct. 21, 2014)
#6 ~ Asa: Ebook • Paperback • Goodreads (April 14, 2015)