Blog Tour + Review & Giveaway: Rock Addiction by Nalini Singh

Rock Addiction Tour banner

Welcome to today’s stop on the blog tour for ROCK ADDICTION by Nalini Singh!

Rock Addiction by Nalini Singh

Rock Addiction by Nalini Singh
Series: Rock Kiss #1 (full reading order below)
Release Date: September 9th 2014
Add to Goodreads

A bad boy wrapped in a sexy, muscled, grown-up package might be worth a little risk…

Molly Webster has always followed the rules. After an ugly scandal tore apart her childhood and made her the focus of the media’s harsh spotlight, she vowed to live an ordinary life. No fame. No impropriety. No pain. Then she meets Zachary Fox, a tattooed bad boy rocker with a voice like whiskey and sin, and a touch that could become an addiction.

A one-night stand with the hottest rock star on the planet, that’s all it was meant to be…

Fox promises scorching heat and dangerous pleasure, coaxing Molly to extend their one-night stand into a one-month fling. After that, he’ll be gone forever, his life never again intersecting with her own. Sex and sin and sensual indulgence, all with an expiration date. No ties, no regrets. Too late, Molly realizes it isn’t only her body that’s become addicted to Fox, but her heart…

Buy Links:
Amazon Ebook • Ebook Paperback • iTunes • Kobo

review button

I am a HUGE, blubbery mess of a fan for Nalini Singh. Her paranormal romances are to die for (especially the Psy-Changeling series), and when I heard she was going to write a contemporary book, a ROCK STAR book no less, I absolutely had to read it. Cue me jumping for joy when I got Rock Addiction in my hands. I should mention though, for fans of Nalini’s PNR or Urban Fantasy books, Rock Addiction has a completely different feel – of course, it’s contemporary, so it should feel different! But just because Rock Addiction was different doesn’t mean I loved it less. I thoroughly enjoyed it – Nalini’s venture into the rock star world was engaging, hot, addicting, and overall a fun read!

Molly Webster is a good girl – she’s a librarian and a virgin. She wants nothing to do with drama for the rest of her life, because incidents in the past involving her parents have left her hurt and scarred on the inside. Unfortunately, the moment she meets Zachary Fox, her life isn’t so simple anymore. When Fox and Molly see each other, there’s insta-lust, but when it’s done well, I have no problem with it. And the instant attraction between Fox and Molly worked for the story and for me. And there’s the whole ‘opposites attract’ thing as well – Molly is a quiet, shy type of girl, while Fox is the lead singer of a world-renowned band.

He didn’t believe in fantasy shit like destiny or fate or the biggest con of all–love–but he knew himself. And he knew what he wanted; to tug her to him with his hand fisted in her hair, brand her with his mouth, warn every other male in the room that she was off-limits. But the instant he did that, he’d make her front-page news when he wanted her all to himself.
Private.
Alone.
No cameras.
No lights.
No fucking interruptions.

I usually wouldn’t like heroines like Molly, but somehow, Nalini Singh was able to make me care for this girl. I didn’t completely love her, but she felt real to me. Like her thoughts and actions and reactions were understandable, even if I didn’t like them sometimes. Fox brought a lot more feelings out of me than Molly – I was just shy of loving him completely. He’s the perfect rock star – he’s sexy, charismatic, an alpha-male, knows what he wants. And what he wants is Molly. He’s never felt an attraction toward anyone like he has for her, and he wants to see where it could lead.

“You know when you get the whisper of a melody in your head, or the murmur of a song? And you have the gut feeling that if you could just hear the rest of it, just capture the music”–the need an ache as frustrating as it was piercing–”you’d have something fucking amazing?”
Noah nodded.
“Yeah well, that’s what it feels like with Molly.” The most compelling whisper of his life. “I’m not about to walk away from that.”

Fox is refreshing in the way that he’s the one who wants more. Molly is resistant to forming any sort of relationship past their one-night-stand (which definitely heated up the pages), but Fox is compelling and irresistible. We see from his thoughts that he falls fast and hard for Molly, and I loved that Fox is the one who has to convince Molly that the two of them work. Theirs is a romance that is slow, sexy, warm, heartwarming, and real. Despite the whole rock star thing, these two characters felt very real to me, which made it so easy to be swept away by their story.

Fox’s eyes held her own, a passionate possessive fire in their depths. “No half measures, no regrets.”
“No half measures,” she vowed, her pulse a staccato beat and her heart on her sleeve. “No regrets.”
Fox’s kiss branded her, his body imprinting on her cells.

What I loved best about Rock Addiction was the fact that the drama wasn’t the over-the-top kind of drama. As problems rise for Molly and Fox, none of the it felt like too much – it wasn’t drama for drama’s sake. Each problem for this couple felt integral for the story, and was necessary for them to overcome so they could reach a happily ever after. Fox and Molly openly communicated (another refreshing thing) and I was able to connect with them easily.

Within Molly and Fox’s romance, there’s humor as well as the bromances between Fox and the other members of Schoolboy Choir. I loved that everything went well together, that nothing felt out of place with this book. I just really enjoyed Rock Addiction – I’m glad to have read it. And I’m incredibly excited to read the other books in the series!

4 hearts
lacey

Quotes are taken from the arc and are subject to change in the final version.

Reading Order: Rock Kiss series

Rock Addiction by Nalini Singh Rock Courtship by Nalini Singh
Rock Hard by Nalini Singh Rock Redemption by Nalini Singh 

#1 ~ Rock Addiction: Ebook • Paperback • Audible • Goodreads
#1.5 ~ Rock Courtship: My Review • Ebook • Audible • Goodreads
#2 ~ Rock Hard: My Review • Ebook • Paperback • Audible • Goodreads
#3 ~ Rock Redemption: My Review • Ebook • PaperbackAudible • Goodreads
#4 ~ Rock Wedding: My Review • Ebook • Paperback • Goodreads (July 19, 2016)

about the author button

Nalini SinghNEW YORK TIMES AND USA Today bestselling author of the Psy-Changeling and Guild Hunter series Nalini Singh usually writes about hot shapeshifters and dangerous angels. This time around, she decided to write about a hot and wickedly tempting rock star. If you’re seeing a theme here, you’re not wrong.

Nalini lives and works in beautiful New Zealand, and is passionate about writing. If you’d like to explore her other books, you can find lots of excerpts on her website. Slave to Sensation is the first book in the Psy-Changeling series, while Angels’ Blood is the first book in the Guild Hunter series. Once Rock Addiction is out, swing by the site to check out the special behind-the-scenes page, complete with photos of many of the locations used in the book.

Website • Facebook • Twitter • Goodreads

giveaway button

$100 GIFT CARD

a Rafflecopter giveaway


FOLLOW BOOKLOVERS FOR LIFE ON:
FACEBOOKTWITTERGOODREADSPINTERESTBLOGLOVIN’

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Advertisements

We Love Comments!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s