Review: Aflame by Penelope Douglas

Aflame by Penelope Douglas

Aflame by Penelope Douglas
Series: Fall Away #4 (full reading order below)
Publication Date: April 21st 2015
Links: Ebook • Audible • Goodreads

The tables have turned. Now I have the power—and it’s his turn to beg…

Everyone wants to be me.

Maybe it’s the sway of my skirt or the way I flip my hair, but I don’t care. Even though their attention is the last thing I crave, I just can’t stop. I dominate the track, the speed rattles my bones, and the wind and the crowd screams my name.

I’m her. The girl driver. The queen of the race. And I’m surviving—something he thought I’d never do.

They all talk about him. Did you see Jared Trent on T.V? What did you think of his last race, Tate? When is he coming back to town, Tate? 

But I refuse to care too much. Because when Jared does come home, I won’t be here.

Tatum Brandt is gone. I’m someone new.

Oh. My. God. I absolutely LOVED Aflame – it’s a brilliant, fantastic ending to one of my most favorite series of all time. From the second I started this book until I got to the very last word, I couldn’t stop smiling. And THAT ENDING!! It was beautiful – this whole book is a treasure, really. Admittedly, I wasn’t too sure how I’d feel about this book existing at the cost of Jared and Tate breaking up. I adored them in Bully and Until You, and I never wanted them to break up! But Penelope Douglas has yet to steer me wrong, and I knew she’d blow me away with Aflame – and she did. Heart-pounding, sexy, and intense, Aflame will wow fans of the Fall Away series and have them falling in love with Tate and Jared all over again.

Like warmth and peace and no matter what changed in my life, the people I met, the things I lost, or where I lived, if I was in his orbit, then I was home.

It’s been two years since Jared left home and broke Tate’s heart. I hated that Jared had to break up with Tate, but I could understand his need to find himself, to be a better man for Tate. For so long, he’d been living under her shadow and if he continued to live that way, he’d never be the man Tate deserved. But in order to be that man who could support her, he’d have to be able to support himself first. So he left, broke their hearts (and definitely mine too), and paved his own way in life doing what he loved – racing. But when his mother gives him some unexpected good news, Jared has to return home and face everything he left.

While I love Jared, it was Tate who blew me away in this book. I’ve loved Tate since she performed her monologue in Bully, but the Tate in Aflame is absolutely stunning. She’s grown and matured so much – she’s no longer the girl who lets her emotions get the best of her. She’s a woman now, and while Jared may have broken her heart two years ago, she’s grown stronger and more resilient since. So when Jared comes back home unexpectedly, she faces him head on, not allowing him anywhere near her heart ever again. Tate fights against their still-existing, wicked-hot chemistry, but Jared, this boy who has turned into the most incredible man, sets out to show her that they were always meant to be.

“You want to play,” he charged, biting out every word so only I could hear.
“Challenge accepted, Tatum. This time I don’t want you hurt,” he continued, his breath falling over me as he got in my face, “and I don’t want you small. I just want you. Do you hear me?” He jerked me into his body. “It will be my ring on your finger and my kids in your belly someday.”

I never thought I could love Jared and Tate more than I did after reading Bully and Until You, but after Aflame, my love for them knows no bounds. I freaking LOVED them in Aflame! I couldn’t stop smiling and giggling at their banter. And holy mother of god, the sexual tension. Aflame is the HOTTEST book Penelope Douglas has written yet – I thought Jax’s book was sexy, but Aflame was off the charts. The love and hate between Jared and Tate are explosive – it was like how it was in Bully, except better, more mature and refined. Fans of Jared and Tate absolutely NEED to experience them in Aflame!

At its heart though, Aflame is about two people who are finding their way back to each other. There is no doubt that Jared and Tate still love each other, that they always have and always will. They belong together, and it was a heartwarming experience to read about Jared and Tate again. They are two of my favorite couples, and I couldn’t imagine a more honest, heart-wrenching, beautiful journey for them.

“For better or worse, you’ve been my other half since I was ten years old, and I can’t imagine a future I’d want without you in it. You’re the love of my life.”

5 hearts
lacey


Reading Order: Fall Away series

Bully by Penelope Douglas Until You by Penelope Douglas
Rival by Penelope Douglas Falling Away by Penelope Douglas Aflame by Penelope Douglas

#1 ~ Bully: My Review • Ebook • Audible • Goodreads
#1.5 ~ Until You: My Review • Ebook • Audible • Goodreads
#2 ~ Rival: My Review • Ebook • Paperback • Audible • Goodreads
#3 ~ Falling Away: My Review • Ebook • Paperback • Audible • Goodreads
#4 ~ Aflame: Ebook • Audible • Goodreads


FOLLOW BOOKLOVERS FOR LIFE ON:
FACEBOOKTWITTERGOODREADSPINTERESTBLOGLOVIN’

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Advertisements

One thought on “Review: Aflame by Penelope Douglas

We Love Comments!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s