Release Day Review: Becoming Calder by Mia Sheridan

Becoming Calder by Mia Sheridan

Becoming Calder by Mia Sheridan
Series: A Sign of Love #5 (full reading order below)
Publication Date: October 5th 2014
Links: Ebook • Paperback • Audible • Goodreads
Source: I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review

There is a place in modern day America with no electricity, no plumbing, and no modern conveniences. In this place, there is no room for dreams, no space for self-expression, and no tolerance for ambition.

In this place, there is a boy with the body of a God and the heart of a warrior. He is strong and faithful and serves his family honorably. But he dares to dream of more.

In this place, there is a girl with the face of an angel and a heart full of courage. To her family, she is the vision of obedient perfection. But she dares to want that which she has been told can never be hers.

Becoming Calder is the story of good versus evil, fear versus bravery, and the truth that the light of love has always found its way into even the darkest of places… From the beginning of time, to the end of the world.

Wow. WOW WOW WOW!!! I am just stunned by this book. I honestly had no idea what I was in for… Becoming Calder simply blew me away – it’s a truly unforgettable, unputdownable story.

I’ve read Mia Sheridan’s previous books and enjoyed them so much, but this, THIS book made me fall madly and deeply with this author. The writing, the characters, the EMOTIONS, everything in this book was absolutely phenomenal. I was hooked onto this story from start to finish. I can’t say enough good things about Becoming Calder – I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!

We begin the story with a girl for whom it seems almost all hope is lost. She’s alone, desperate, in need of some help. She’s lost in this world… but why? How did she get into this situation? The entire prologue makes you question and wonder – it basically hooks you onto this story and won’t let you go. You want to know this girl’s story, how it came to be. So we go back to the start of this girl’s story. Back to where it all began – in a place that is separate, different, from society.

The setting Mia Sheridan uses in Calder and Eden’s beautiful story is truly unique and remarkably well-written. It’s a community of people who have removed themselves from modern society in order to live out more simple lives. This is the place known as Acadia, the place where Calder is born and grows up in. He has never known anything different than this simple community and has never needed to know anything different – until a young girl named Eden arrives and his outlook on life is forever changed.

She was mesmerizing. Gracefully beautiful. Ethereal. Mine. That’s the girl I choose. Mine, my mind insisted.

Eden doesn’t know where she is when she’s taken to Acadia, but she’s been given a destiny that she doesn’t want to fulfill. She’s told she must marry Hector, the leader of Acadia, and she has no say in her future. I felt for this girl so much – her fear and confusion comes so clearly off the pages, I just wanted to reach out into the book and comfort her. Becoming Calder spans many years, and throughout these years, Eden has to live separate from everyone else because of her supposed ‘destiny’. She’s being forced into a destiny she doesn’t want, but secretly meeting Calder at their spring, becoming friends with him, falling in love with him, are the best things to have ever happened to her.

He was perfect. And I loved him. I loved him desperately.
And I was destined to marry Hector. Or so I was told. Only destiny hadn’t check with me first. If she had, I would have told her that I was pretty sure Calder Raynes was my destiny–or at least I would have begged for it to be made so.

I feel that an author is truly gifted when I can feel every emotion running through their characters. As Eden and Calder fall in love, it felt like I was falling in love for the first time. I truly experienced everything alongside these characters. My heart was racing, I was breathless, my palms were sweating – this is a book you don’t just read, but experience.

“If I were just a boy, and you were just a girl, I wouldn’t kiss you once like you asked.” He paused and my heart dropped. Oh.
“Eden, I’d kiss you long, and I’d kiss you often.”

Eden and Calder are one of my FAVORITE couples ever. I could read about them forever. They are sweet, heartwarming, intense, beautiful, mesmerizing, and unforgettable together. I wanted so badly for them to get a happily ever after they so rightly deserved. They make plans to leave Acadia, along with Calder’s best friend Xander, but it’s not easy. They really have nothing that would help them survive in modern society, but they won’t give up. They want to have a better life, and they can’t have that in Acadia.

“Do you think there’s a life out there for us?”
Calder paused for a few beats, looking down at me. “I’m going to make a life for us out there. A place for you and me. And until then, yes, I’m going to believe that there is.”

Becoming Calder is a thought-provoking, intense, gorgeous read. So many emotions were running through me while reading this book, and I never wanted it to end. And the writing!! I feel like with each book Mia Sheridan releases, the writing gets better and better, and the writing in Becoming Calder was simply stunning! I loved this book so, so much. Please, please, please read Calder and Eden’s epic story. I promise you won’t regret it. 5 perfect hearts!

Note: Becoming Calder is the first part of Calder and Eden’s story. It is a full length novel, but the story continues in Finding Eden, which releases simultaneously with Becoming Calder (so you don’t have to wait for the sequel). Psst – you’ll want to get your hands on Finding Eden as soon as you finish Becoming Calder!

Read my review of Finding Eden.

5 hearts

Quotes are taken from the arc and are subject to change in the final version.

Reading Order: A Sign of Love series

Note: Each of the books in the A Sign of Love series can be read as complete standalones that have no connection with each other, with the exception of Leo’s Chance, which is the hero’s POV of Leo, and Becoming Calder and Finding Eden, a two-book story featuring the same cast of characters. None of the characters in the different Sign of Love books are connected.

Leo by Mia Sheridan Leo's Chance by Mia Sheridan Stinger by Mia Sheridan
Archer's Voice by Mia Sheridan Becoming Calder by Mia Sheridan Finding Eden by Mia Sheridan
Kyland by Mia Sheridan Grayson's Vow by Mia Sheridan Midnight Lily by Mia Sheridan

#1 ~ Leo: EbookPaperback • AudibleGoodreads
#2 ~ Leo’s Chance: EbookPaperback • AudibleGoodreads
#3 ~ Stinger: EbookPaperbackAudible • Goodreads
#4 ~ Archer’s Voice: EbookPaperback • AudibleGoodreads
#5 ~ Becoming Calder: Ebook • Paperback • Audible • Goodreads
#6 ~ Finding Eden: My Review • Ebook • Paperback • Audible • Goodreads
#7 ~ Kyland: My Review • EbookPaperbackAudible • Goodreads
#8 ~ Grayson’s Vow: My Review • EbookPaperback • Audible • Goodreads
#9 ~ Midnight Lily: Ebook • PaperbackAudible • Goodreads


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We Love Comments!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.