Spotlight + Giveaway: Slave to Sensation by Nalini Singh

slave to sensation banner

Today we’re spotlighting the first book of the FANTASTIC Psy-Changeling series by Nalini Singh! Slave to Sensation has a new cover and we have a giveaway to celebrate!

The Psy-Changeling is one of my top favorite PNR series ever!! If you haven’t read the series, I HIGHLY recommend it! You can check out my mini series review for books 1-12 here.

Slave to Sensation by Nalini Singh

Slave to Sensation by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy-Changeling #1 (full reading order below)
Publication Date: September 5th 2006
Add to Goodreads

Dive into a world torn apart by a powerful race with phenomenal powers of the mind—and none of the heart…

In a world that denies emotions, where the ruling Psy punish any sign of desire, Sascha Duncan must conceal the feelings that brand her as flawed. To reveal them would be to sentence herself to the horror of “rehabilitation”— the complete psychic erasure of everything she ever was….

Both human and animal, Lucas Hunter is a Changeling hungry for the very sensations the Psy disdain. After centuries of uneasy co-existence, these two races are now on the verge of war over the brutal murders of several Changeling women. Lucas is determined to find the Psy killer who butchered his packmate, and Sascha is his ticket into their closely guarded society. But he soon discovers that this ice-cold Psy is very capable of passion—and that the animal in him is fascinated by her. Caught between their conflicting worlds, Lucas and Sascha must remain bound to their identities—or sacrifice everything for a taste of darkest temptation…

Buy Links:
Amazon Ebook • Amazon Paperback • Barnes & Noble • Kobo • BAM

Excerpt available on Nalini’s Website:

Free Psy-Changeling Short Stories

Reading Order: Psy-Changeling series

Slave to Sensation by Nalini Singh Visions of Heat by Nalini Singh Caressed by Ice by Nalini Singh
Mine to Possess by Nalini Singh Hostage to Pleasure by Nalini Singh Branded by Fire by Nalini Singh Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh
Bonds of Justice by Nalini Singh Play of Passion by Nalini Singh Kiss of Snow by Nalini Singh Tangle of Need by Nalini Singh
Heart of Obsidian by Nalini Singh Shield of Winter by Nalini Singh Shards of Hope by Nalini Singh Wild Invitation by Nalini Singh

#1 ~ Slave to Sensation: Ebook • Paperback • Goodreads
#2 ~ Visions of Heat: EbookPaperback • Goodreads
#3 ~ Caressed by Ice: Ebook • Paperback • Goodreads
#4 ~ Mine to Possess: Ebook • Paperback • Goodreads
#5 ~ Hostage to Pleasure: Ebook • Paperback • Goodreads
#6 ~ Branded by Fire: Ebook • Paperback • Goodreads
#7 ~ Blaze of Memory: Ebook • Paperback • Goodreads
#8 ~ Bonds of Justice: Ebook • Paperback • Goodreads
#9 ~ Play of Passion: Ebook • Paperback • Goodreads
#10 ~ Kiss of Snow: Ebook • Paperback • Goodreads
#11 ~ Tangle of Need: EbookPaperbackGoodreads
#12 ~ Heart of Obsidian: Ebook • PaperbackGoodreads
#13 ~ Shield of Winter: EbookHardcoverPaperbackGoodreads
#14 ~ Shards of Hope: EbookHardcoverGoodreads
Short Story Collection ~ Wild Invitation: EbookPaperbackGoodreads

about the author button

Nalini SinghNEW YORK TIMES AND USA Today bestselling author of the Psy-Changeling and Guild Hunter series Nalini Singh usually writes about hot shapeshifters and dangerous angels. This time around, she decided to write about a hot and wickedly tempting rock star. If you’re seeing a theme here, you’re not wrong.

Nalini lives and works in beautiful New Zealand, and is passionate about writing. If you’d like to explore her other books, you can find lots of excerpts on her website. Slave to Sensation is the first book in the Psy-Changeling series, while Angels’ Blood is the first book in the Guild Hunter series. Also, don’t forget to swing by the site to check out the special behind-the-scenes page for the Rock Kiss series, complete with photos of many of the locations used in the books.

Website • Facebook • Twitter • Goodreads

giveaway button

5 Psy-Changeling Prize Packs for 5 winners, open internationally!
One Prize Pack =
1 Penguin tote bag
Books 1-5 in Nalini Singh’s Psy-Changeling series, including the newly repackaged Slave to Sensation!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Mini Series Review: Psy-Changeling series by Nalini Singh

psy-changeling series by nalini singh

psy-changeling revamped

So this is a first for me, reviewing an entire series instead of just one book at a time. But I figured since the Psy-Changeling series is a series (12 books and counting!), it would be easier for me to just gush about the series as a whole and make short reviews for each book. And this adult, paranormal romance series is the. best. I honestly had no idea I would fall this much in love with it, but I did, and I’m now such a huge fan of Nalini Singh. The only thing I don’t like about the series are the awful covers. I really, really don’t like them. Heart of Obsidian is the only cover I love (well, maybe Kiss of Snow too *cough* beautiful abs *cough*), but I’m so glad they revamped the book covers later. But whatever, who cares about the covers? It’s what’s on the inside that counts, and oh my god, this series is just one of my absolute favorites that I will never get tired of. I trust whatever Nalini Singh throws at us in future Psy-Changeling books.

Here’s a little bit about the Psy-Changeling series:

It is the year 2079, and there are 3 kinds of beings that exist in the Psy-Changeling world: humans, Psy, and Changelings. Humans are, obviously, just normal human beings. The Psy are like humans, except they have powers like telepathy, telekinesis, foresight, and a whole wide range of other powers, and they are under a regime called Silence. Changelings are the shifters, people who can shift into animals like wolves, leopards, hawks, rats, etc.

Silence is a huge part of the series. All Psy are under Silence (implemented in 1979), which means they have cut off all feelings, so they don’t feel any emotions, not love, happiness, sadness, lust, anger, fear, etc. The Council are the leaders of the Psy who are in charge of making sure Silence is maintained. However, Silence is breaking. Slowly, the Psy have been feeling more and more, and the Psy-Changeling series tells the ongoing story of the Psy learning to love again, and all humans, changeling, and Psy working together.

The series focuses on two changeling packs: the DarkRiver leopards and the SnowDancer wolves.

Slave to Sensation by Nalini SinghBook 1: Slave to Sensation • Ebook • Paperback
Lucas Hunter (changeling; DarkRiver Alpha) & Sascha Duncan (Psy)
Rating: 5

The first book of the Psy-Changeling series completely hooked me in. I wouldn’t have had the motivation to continue and finish the rest of the 12 books if I hadn’t loved Slave to Sensation. But I did end up loving it so much, and Lucas and Sascha’s story is one of my favorites of the series. It’s currently my third favorite book in this series. Lucas is the alpha of his DarkRiver leopard pack, centered in San Fransisco, and when he meets Sascha, sparks fly, even though it seems she has no feelings because she’s Psy. So Lucas slowly worms his way into Sascha’s heart and shows her how to feel and eventually, love. I love Lucas so much, his fierceness, strength, and capacity to love; he’s the main reason why I loved Slave to Sensation so much, though Sascha can hold her own too. I highly, highly recommend reading Slave to Sensation! Who knows, you might end up reading the entire series and loving it like I did!

Continue reading